Update: Flight suspensions to Qatar

6 Jun 2017

Seven nations have now severed diplomatic ties with Qatar, accusing the country of supporting terrorism and destabilising the region.

The Maldives, Yemen and Libya have joined Bahrain, Egypt, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in suspending diplomatic ties with Qatar.  

In all cases, these seven nations have advised:

  • Qatari diplomats have 48 hours to leave
  • Qatari citizens in each of these countries have 14 days to leave and return to Qatar
  • All air and sea ports as well as land borders between Qatar and these seven nations are closed which means that all flights are suspended from today (6 June 2017) and until further notice
  • Qatar Airways (QR) is restricted from the seven nations' airspace until further notice
  • Airspace over Qatar is not closed

All the affected airlines (listed below) are offering refunds or re-accommodation to another port for customers who are booked to fly between Qatar and one of the above mentioned seven countries.

  • Emirates (EK)  
  • Etihad (EY) 
  • Qatar (QR) 
  • Egypt Air (MS) has advised via twitter that all flights to Doha were suspended with the last service operating earlier today.  
  • Gulf Air (GF) advice
  • Saudi Arabian Airlines (SV) advice
  • Libyan Airlines (LN) has not updated its website but may do so later.  

What does it mean if you are booked on Etihad, Emirates, Gulf Air, Egypt Air, Saudia Arabia and Libyan Arab Airlines but you are NOT travelling to Qatar?

It is business as usual. Your flights will not be affected.

You are travelling on Qatar (QR). What does this mean for you?

It is business as usual for QR, unless you are flying to one of the seven nations that have severed ties. Customers who are travelling to or via Qatar to Europe or another destination (other than the seven listed above) will be able to travel as normal.

If you have any concerns or queries about upcoming travel plans please contact your Campus Travel team or Consultant. Additonally please refer to the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) travel advice.