USA visa status update

20 Mar 2017

President Donald Trump’s recent executive order to ban six countries from entering the United States of America has again been blocked. The visa restrictions were due to take effect on Thursday 16 March. A federal judge has blocked the order and until further notice, it will not be implemented. 

This means the visa status for entry into the USA remains as per below:

  • Citizens and dual citizens of any of the six countries (Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen) who hold an existing visa, US citizenship or a Green Card to enter the USA may do so.
  • Please note that Iraqi citizens were exempt from the most recent version of the ban and may enter the USA as before.
  • Citizens and dual citizens of one of the six listed nations may continue to apply for visas to enter the USA, including refugee visas.
  • There is no change to the ESTA requirement for citizens of visa waiver countries

Further information

Please contact the Campus Travel team by phone on (07) 3393 8855 or email for further information about these changes or if you are affected and are supposed to be travelling to the U.S.