UK and USA issue electronics ban

22 Mar 2017

On Tuesday 21 March the USA and UK governments announced new regulations that will affect travellers to both countries.

The U.S. have imposed a ban on the carriage of certain electronic devices on flights that originate from these cities:

  • Abu Dhabi, UAE (AUH) Dubai, UAE (DXB)
  • Amman, Jordan (AMM) Istanbul, Turkey (IST)
  • Cairo, Egypt (CAI) Jeddah, Saudi Arabia (JED)
  • Casablanca, Morocco (CAS) Kuwait City, Kuwait (KWI)
  • Doha, Qatar (DOH) Riyadh, Saudi Arabia (RUH)

Customers travelling on direct services to the UK from any port in the following six countries will not be permitted to carry most electronic devices in the cabin with them:

  • Egypt
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Jordan
  • Tunisia
  • Lebanon
  • Turkey

Both governments have essentially banned any electronic device that is larger than 16cm x 9.3cm from being carried on board the aircraft. The regulation applies to tablets, laptops, portable DVD players and more.

There are similarities in the new regulations from both governments but important differences also. For more information regarding the changes and the restrictions for both countries, please visit the Campus Travel news hub for full details.

If you or your staff are impacted please contact the Campus Travel team by email at or phone (07) 3393 8855.